NSCL Professors elected as APS fellows

NSCL's Professors Thomas Glasmacher and Michael Thoennessen have been elected as Fellows of the American Physical Society (APS). The citation for Thomas Glasmacher reads: "For his important contributions to in-beam gamma-ray spectroscopy with fast beams of rare isotopes". The citation for Michael Thoennessen reads: "For his seminal contributions to our understanding of nuclei at and beyond the limits of nuclear stability and for his innovative use of the Giant Dipole Resonance in hot nuclei to probe nuclear properties and nuclear reactions".

Michael Thoennessen

Thomas Glasmacher

MSU Today
2005 APS Fellows

News Story Archive